Back to Reggae Sunsplash  

GCD 8924 Toots & the Maytals

"An Hour Live: Straight from the Yard"


Toots Hibbert • Harold Butler • Carl Harvey • Jackie Jackson • Winston Wright • Paul Douglass • Hux Brown

Track Listing:

1. Get Up Stand Up (6:23)
2. Never Get Weary Yet (6:01)
3. Monkey Man (3:58)
4. Careless Ethiopians (4:46)
5. Country Ska Roads Medley (10:34)
6. His Songs Live On (Tribute to Bob Marley) (5:58)
7. Funky Kingston/Medley (21:10)
8. Reggae Got Soul Medley (2:51)

Buy this CD for $14.00

 Recorded live at the 1982 Reggae Sunsplash Festival in Montego Bay, Jamaica, this album is essential listening for Toots devotees. Hard-hitting performances of "Funky Kingston," "Get Up, Stand Up" (not to be confused with the Bob Marley classic), "Monkey Man" and other major hits (in Jamaica and England) leave no doubt that Toots & the Maytals had one of the most exciting live shows in the history of reggae. -- Alex Henderson, All Music Guide

For more Toots, see GCD 8901

HomeRockBluesJazzReggaeWorldFolkNew ReleasesEmail Adelphi Records Store